Success for Victoria at the 2016 Australian National Band Championships!

The 2016 Australian National Band Championships were held over the Easter weekend in Gawler, South Australia. Despite some tough competition from bands around the country and overseas, there were some great results for Victorian bands and soloists.

A special congratulations to the following:

Ararat City Band – Open D Grade Brass National Champions
Boroondara Brass – Open B Grade Brass National Champions
Footscray Yarraville City Band – Open A Grade Brass – 3rd place
Boroondara Harmony Brass – Open C Grade Brass – 3rd place
Keith Moore – Open D Grade Brass Champion Drum Major
Michael Mathers – Open B Grade Brass Champion Drum Major (for the fourth consecutive year) and the overall Champion Drum Major Jim Brill Memorial Trophy (for the second consecutive year)
Aidan Purdy – National Champion in all 4 tuba sections – an incredible achievement
May Thomas  – National Open French Horn Champion
Andrew McAdam – National Open Trumpet Champion
Sam Beagley – Junior Bb Cornet National Champion and National Junior Champion of Champions!
Llewellyn Morris – Open Tenor Horn – 3rd place
Steven Vlahek – Open Timpani & Open Snare Drum – 2nd place
Harrison Steele-Holmes – Junior Tenor Trombone – 3rd place

A full list of results from the weekend can be found here

Ararat at Gawler


This entry was posted in Awards, Competitions, People. Bookmark the permalink.