Clifford Jervis awarded Life Membership of the Victorian Bands’ League

At the 2016 Victorian Bands’ League Annual General Meeting, the delegates present endorsed through acclamation the nomination of Clifford Jervis for Life Membership of the Victorian Bands’ League. This is the highest accolade for any member of the Victorian Bands’ League. Congratulations Clifford!

The following bio was read out on the day:

Cliff commenced his banding at East Kew Central School Band at the age of 10 years, playing the Tenor Horn. On leaving school, Cliff joined the East Kew Citizens’ Band which eventually became the Kew Citizens’ Band in the 1950’s. He was a member of this band for 33 years and was awarded the Victorian Bands’ League (VBL) Badge of Merit. During his membership of Kew Citizens’ Band, Cliff was appointed Delegate to the VBL Executive Council.

In 1969, Cliff was appointed VBL Delegate overseeing the ABC Radio Bands’ contest. He was also appointed VBL Delegate to the inaugural VBL Music Camp. In the early 1970’s, Cliff was elected Vice President of the VBL where he remained in this position for the ensuring year. He was official Pacing Adjudicator for the State Quickstep Championships in Ballarat, and at VBL contests in Ivanhoe and Kew.

Cliff joined “Melbourne & Metropolitan Tramways” Band in 1978 on EEb bass and also BBb tuba. He joined Corowa Border District Band in 1990 where we was awarded the VBL Certificate (& Badge) of Honour (1993).

Cliff served as President of Kew Band, Vic President of Melbourne and Metropolitan Tramways band (MMTB), President of Corowa Border District Band and is currently President of Murray Brass Inc. Rutherglen.

Cliff was appointed Librarian at MMTB and also at Corowa Border District BAnd. He was a playing member on BBb bass and occasional percussionist with all bands and also Drum Major as required. He currently plays EEb bass and side drum with Wodonga Brass on a regular basis.

Cliff is a Life Member of Kew Citizens’ Band, MMT Band and Corowa Border District Band.

This entry was posted in Awards, People. Bookmark the permalink.